Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Candidates for this award have demonstrated that they 'value difference'. They recognise that innovation is stimulated by embracing diversity, by listening to and respecting the perspective of others, and by constructive engagement and dialogue.

The definition for this award is intentionally broad, to allow for a wider pool of potential candidates, who in the widest remit, will have approached these attributes in a variety of situations.

Verena Holmes joined the Institution as the first female member in 1924 representing a welcome breakthrough for equal rights in early 20th century Britain, and a significant moment in the Institution's history.

Previously known as the Equality and Diversity Award,  the award is intended to recognise those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.  They have stretched the normal boundaries of expectation for the benefit of the wider society.  Embarking upon this approach often requires persistence and courage, which may also be attributes demonstrated by candidates for this award.


  • Open to members.

Award conditions

  • Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee in May 
  • Successful recipients are invited with a guest of their choice to a celebration of their success in London in the Autumn.

Value of award

  • £1,000 cash prize plus certificate.

Application process

Apply online

Closing date:
30 April 2024.

  • Submit the completed nomination form and any other supporting documents to:

    Karen Frost 
    IMechE Prizes and Awards Department 
    ASK House 
    Northgate Avenue 
    Bury St Edmunds 
    IP32 6BB 
    United Kingdom

Award winners

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube

Discover more about our
Prestige Awards

Apply today