James Clayton Prize

The James Clayton Prize, first presented in 1945 is regarded as the most prestigious annual award made by IMechE.

Achievement will be best demonstrated by way of a recent product or research project, or experimental work, from either an industrial or academic source in any geographical location over a typical period (circa five years).


  • The prize is open to all IMechE members of all grades, in any geographical location.
  • Candidates are permitted to nominate themselves and all nominations must be supported by a Proposer and Seconder who will provide independent citations.

Value of award

  • Up to £10,000.00 plus certificate.
  • The total prize could be divided up as appropriate to a maximum of four individual prizes.

Award conditions

  • Nominations are considered by the Trustee Board Awards Committee and recommendations for awards are forwarded to the Trustee Board for approval.
  • Successful recipients are notified by the President and invited with a guest of their choice to a celebration of their success later in the year.

Application process

Applications can be submitted via online application form (link below).

Apply online

Closing date:
30 April 2024

Award winners

  • 2023 - No Award
  • 2022 - No Award
  • 2021 - Professor Tim Baker MBE for outstanding work in response to the Covid-19 pandemic in March 2020 and for his exceptional contributions to mechanical engineering education.
  • 2020 - Professor Ahmed Kovacevic CEng FIMechE, for outstanding contributions in the field of Fluid Machinery.
  • 2019 Professor Stuart Burgess
  • 2017 Bridget Eickhoff and Neville Jackson
  • 2016 Anne Neville
  • 2014 Andy Cowell.

Find out more about previous James Clayton Prize winners.

Have a question?

Contact our Prizes and Awards Team about our awards, scholarships or prizes.

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube

Discover more about our
Prestige Awards

Apply today