Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Energy, Environment and Sustainability Group Prize

IMechE 175 anniversary logo

Awarded to a mechanical engineer who has taken significant steps to bridge the gap between an unsustainable present and a more sustainable future.


  • Members and non-members, worldwide.

Award conditions

  • The Award will be measured by considering achievement in the development of sustainable projects, products and processes. Where appropriate the achievement of a group of engineers can be recognised with the value of the prize split accordingly or awarded to the lead engineer.
  • Judging of nominations and selection of the successful candidate will be carried out by a judging committee drawn from the members of the EESG Group Board
  • The recommendation of the judging committee will be subject to ratification by the Group Board
  • The Prize will be presented at the Group’s Annual Lecture, normally held in December.
  • The Group will encourage the prize recipient to make a presentation of their achievements to members at an appropriate event at or within six months of receiving the Prize.

Award criteria

Proposals for a prize award must include:

  • Brief personal biography of the candidate(s)
  • Summary of their personal achievements in the fields of energy, environment and sustainability
  • Justification for the award of the prize.

A proposal should not normally run to more than one side of A4.

Value of award

  • Maximum value of the prize is £1,000; individual value of an award will be determined by the EESG Board.
  • One or more recipients, up to a maximum of four, can be chosen. 

Application process

Nominations now open.
Closing date for nominations: 1 March 2022
Review of nominations and award proposal – 31 March
Submission of proposed award to Awards Committee – 14 April
Decision of Awards Committee and Trustee Board – 30 June
Notify winner – 29 September
Presentation of prize – EESG Annual Lecture, December
  • Nominations for the prize award are normally made by a third party. Self-nominations must be supported by a referee who is knowledgeable about the nominee's work. 

Nominations should be submitted to

Award winners

Toggle 2019 Award winner: Geoff Bates BE (Hons)

Toggle 2018 Award winner: Ir Dr K S Kannan CEng FIMechE

Toggle 2017 Award winner: Professor Hussam Jouhara BSc (Hons), PhD, CEng, FIMechE, IntPE, MIEI, MInstR, FHEA

Get in touch

Have a question about this Award or Prize?

Contact our Member Engagement Team:

Join the IMechE conversation

IMechE Facebook IMechE Twitter IMechE LinkedIn IMechE Instagram IMechE YouTube

Discover how our
Scholarships and Awards can help your studies and career

Apply today