Our other boards and committees lead our strategy and activities as well as advising and reporting to the Trustee Board.

Audit and Risk Committee

Chair: Heather Clarke
Deputy Chair: Vijay Raman

  • Reviews internal audit reports
  • Reviews procedures for detecting fraud and whistle-blowing
  • Presents an annual review of the risks to the Trustee Board.

Trustee Board Awards Committee

Chair: Professor Richard Folkson

  • Develops policy on and administers the disbursement of the Institution's prizes, awards and scholarships from the Institution's Trust Fund
  • Is responsible for processing and reviewing nominations for significant external awards.

Disciplinary Board

  • Hears, considers and adjudicates upon allegations presented to it by the Investigating Panel.

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Chair: Isobel Pollock-Hulf

  • Provides guidance and advice to the Trustee Board on matters related to diversity and inclusion
  • Ensures that diversity and inclusion sits at the heart of the Institution’s core values and business ethics and encourage fairness, trust and transparency
  • Supports a diverse and inclusive profession that inspires, attracts and retains people from different backgrounds, reflecting our increasingly diverse society
  • Identify and address any perceived barriers within the Institution.
Find out more: Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Education and Skills Strategy Board

Chair: Professor David Nowell

  • Provides leadership to the profession and society by facilitating the inspiration and retention of young people in engineering
  • Develops the strategic objectives and policy across the broad range of activities influencing education and skills in engineering.

Finance Board

Chair: Phil Peel (Honorary Treasurer)
Deputy Chair: Peter Flinn (President)

  • Assists the Trustee Board in its duty to supervise the broad direction of the Institution’s financial affairs
  • Reviews the financial plans and performance of the Institution as a whole.
  • Provides oversight of the commercial activities of the Institution.
  • Reviews the investment policy and evaluates individual investment decisions.

International Strategy Board

Chair: Louis Ka Sing Szeto
Vice Chair: Professor Vinesh Thiruchelvam

  • Develops the international strategic objectives in line with our overall strategic aims
  • Develops and reviews international activities
  • Represents our international network
  • Advises the Trustee Board and international offices.

Investigating Panel

  • Investigates allegations of improper conduct against members, and, if appropriate, presents them to the Disciplinary Board.

PEP Ltd Board

Chair: Peter Flinn (President)
Vice Chair: James McKnight (President 1999-2000)

  • Oversees the strategy and delivery of the Institution’s trading companies with direct accountability to the Finance Board and ultimately to the Trustee Board.

Qualifications and Membership Board

Chair: Matt Garside

  • Advises on policies for education, training, and continuing professional development for mechanical engineers
  • Influences the standards required for membership
  • Advises on our policies on professional development, qualifications and membership
  • Advises the Trustee Board.

Regional Strategy Board

Chair: Andy Pugh

  • Develops, reviews and co-ordinates the strategies and activities of the UK and Ireland regions to support our vision and strategic objectives
  • Advises the Trustee Board.

Technical Strategy Board

Chair: Paul Jones

  • Develops and reviews the engineering and technical activities
  • Advises and coordinates technical strategy and activity
  • Advises the Trustee Board.

Young Members Board

Chair: Ben Vallely

  • Represents the interests of our 65,000 Young Members
  • Works to ensure that the voice of Young Members is heard and considered in all areas, from membership accreditation, to industries and specialisms to geographical location.
Find out: Young Members Board

Ask a question

If you would like to find out more about our boards and committees, contact Joan Gibbins: